Standardized Uptake Value (SUV)

From QIBA Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Back to FDG-PET

QIBA FDG-PET/CT Standardized Uptake Value (SUV) Technical Subcommittee

The objective of this subcommittee is to define how to calculate SUV in a consistent manner regardeless of manufacturer, model and version of scanner and workstation.

Completed:

  • Collected DICOM PET/CT images of the same reference phantom from scanners from GE, Philips, Siemens
  • Image data collated and compared to DICOM header information
  • Collected answers from vendors to questionnaires along with other submitted SUV calculation documents
  • Described generalized SUV calculation method with vendor-specific variants

The previously described objective of building a common reference DICOM test image that can be generated by each scanner and read on PET DICOM display stations to check information fidelity is the subject of the separate University of Washington Digital Reference Object (DRO) project (described in the 12-Month Final Project Report).

SUV Calculation

Letter to vendors requesting detailed SUV computation description

Vendor responses on SUV computation

Subcommittee Call Summaries

SUV

DRO

SUV Subcommittee Members

  • Paul Kinahan, PhD, Subcommittee Co-chair <kinahan@u.washington.edu>
  • David Clunie, MBBS, Subcommittee Co-chair <dclunie@radpharm.com>
  • Ronald Boellaard, PhD <r.boellaard@vumc.nl>
  • Michael Casey, PhD <michael.e.casey@siemens.com>
  • Paul E. Christian <Paul.Christian@hci.utah.edu>
  • Patricia E. Cole, PhD, MD <patriciaellencole@gmail.com>
  • Simon DeBruin, MSEE <sdebruin@segamicorp.com>
  • John M. Hoffman, MD <john.hoffman@hci.utah.edu>
  • Steve Kohlmyer <Steve.Kohlmyer@med.ge.com>
  • Piotr Maniawski <piotr.maniawski@philips.com>
  • Dennis Nelson, PhD <dnelson@mimvista.com>
  • Eric S. Perlman, MD <perlman@radpharm.com>
  • Ling X. Shao, PhD, <ling.shao@philips.com>
  • John G. Wolodzko, PhD <wolodzko@radpharm.com>
  • Jeffrey Yap, PhD <Jeffrey_Yap@dfci.harvard.edu>
  • Brian Zimmerman, PhD <bez@nist.gov>